Friday, 23 December 2016

ARC Review: Be Good Be Real Be Crazy by Chelsey Philpot.


Thank you, Harper Collins, for sending me a review copy.


SYNOPSIS:



Three teenagers. One road trip. Countless detours. From the author of Even in Paradise comes a compelling story of self-discovery that is perfect for fans of Paper Towns and Mosquitoland.
When Mia first waltzed into Homer’s small corner of Florida, her bold approach to life changed Homer’s entire world. It wasn’t long before he was hopelessly in love.
Now Mia is moving away—and Homer and his younger brother, Einstein, are helping her drive hundreds of miles to her new home. This is Homer’s last chance to tell Mia how he really feels. And with so 

When Mia first waltzed into Homer’s small corner of Florida, her bold approach to life changed Homer’s entire world. It wasn’t long before he was hopelessly in love.
Now Mia is moving away—and Homer and his younger brother, Einstein, are helping her drive hundreds of miles to her new home. This is Homer’s last chance to tell Mia how he really feels. And with so many detours in front of them, anything could happen. 


SPOILER-FREE REVIEW:


When I got this ARC in the mail, I felt completely drawn to it and I could not wait to get started. However, as excited as I was to start reading it, I let it for a couple months sitting on my shelves with the bookmark stuck at page 28. It was not until December (I had started it in October) that I decided to pick it up again and read it once and for all. The reason why it was so hard for me to keep on reading it? No idea. Maybe because I first picked it up in a busy school week. Probably.

In this book I found something pretty far from what I was expecting. Now, do not get me wrong. I did like the writing style and the whole concept, but it fell flat for me. Let me get into detail.


In this novel we follow four people on a Winter, fun and slightly depressing road-trip across the States. Our main character, Homer, is in love with the pregnant girl he is driving to her new home, while his little brother obsesses over the end of the world in the backseat with a little desperate boy who begged them to take him away for a while. Now, as sweet as the idea is, and as cute and caring the characters are, there is no way to deny this is a heartbreaking story-line, not only because of the pregnant girl's near future nor Homer's feelings, but because of how Homer feels in general, how lonely he is and how sad it is to read from his perspective. I finished this book with a sad smile on my face.

The writing, however, is fantastic. You can tell Chelsey Philpot knows how to play with words, as we find poetical parables for each relevant character in the story. I loved those characters where I got to know the character's backgrounds through beautiful expressions and artsy writing style. Really well done.

With all the previous points made, I can then confirm that the writing was experienced and on point, but I could not connect to the story nor the characters. I did not long to know more about any of them, I was just fine with the information given. It could mean they were perfectly portrayed and finished, but I just think they had nothing different to keep me hoping for more.

Let's discuss the things I absolutely loved about this book, besides the poetry. There are two things I consider myself a fan of: Homer's brother and the season this book takes place in.

Homer's brother, Einstein, is a nerdy little boy who loves science and knows way more than he should about the end of the world and colliding atoms. He is absolutely fantastic. He is an adult, an insane scientist, caged inside a young boy, and it is great to see how much he adores the world he so much studies.

Second thing I love, and the one I love the most: unlike most road-trips I have read, this one takes place in the Winter. There are thick clothes involved, snow... I love Winter and road-trips books, so having them altogether in a beautifully written novel was great to experience.

In conclusion, Be Good Be Real Be Crazy is a winter story about four young and diverse people on the road, chasing after hope and love. A simple plot written beautifully.

RATING:


No comments:

Post a Comment